My first Ink

After years of thinking about it, talking about it, planning it, I finally made the commitment to get my first tattoo. It is my mantra, the Vajra Guru in Tibetian Uchen script.  I commissioned the talented artist Tashi to do the art work, which turned out beautiful, and had Erik at Seventh Son do the actual tattoo.  As you can see, it exceeded any expectation I could have had.

I like to think of the tattoo as a body vow, as they are called on The Worst Horse.  It is not only an aesthetically pleasing piece of art, but it is also a constant reminder  for me.  It reminds me of the path I have traveled, and the path that I am on.  It reminds me to always remember that every one of us has the pure potential for compassion, love, happiness and equanimity within ourselves, no matter who we are, and no matter how much other shit we may have obscuring it in the moment, and that that potential is always capable of blossoming.  It reminds me to always try to stay present.  It reminds me that this body is truly a temple, with all of its imperfections and beauty, and that it is the only one I will ever have (in this lifetime at least).

It was truly a great experience, one that I could see myself engaging again in the future.  It took me seven years to get this one, so we’ll see…

img_30922

img_31001

img_30971

3 responses to “My first Ink

Leave a Reply

