Spirituality vs. Religion

I was raised jewish.  Growing up, I had all the associated rituals and traditions force-fed to me.  Unfortunately, that is exactly what it felt like, too.  I recall engaging in these traditions because I had to, which I realize is a lament that most kids feel.  However, as an adult, that feeling never changed.  There has never been a connection to my heart, to my soul, to my spirit.  That is why I view Judaism as a ‘religion.’  Granted, I don’t have kids, so that sense of community that a religion can foster is not a part of my life.  But even if it was, I still feel I would want to expose my kids to the philosophies and life guidance that truly talks to me, not something that I am expected to do because my father did it, and his father did it, and so on and so on…I know, I sound like I’m still trying too rebel, but that is definitely not what it’s about. Spirituality, to me at least, is where you can turn when life has your balls to the wall and you have run out of answers.  It represents ideas and thoughts that not only speaks directly to my heart and soul, but can stimulate my intellect as well.  It has to make sense to me.  It has to feel as if hearing the teachings awaken something deep within me, feeling as if I was born with this knowledge, like it is really a part of me.  This is what I find in Buddhism.

3 responses to “Spirituality vs. Religion

  • Chris

    I believe that when you are left to seek the truth for yourself, as opposed to being spoon-fed with someone else’s version of it, you will indeed find it, somehow. This is the ultimate satisfaction. To wonder; then to set out on a journey; and then, to eventually find what you’re looking for.

    However, parents are naturally inclined to raise their kids the way they believe they’re supposed to be raised. It’s only natural; yet selfish and stifling. Unless spiritual freedom is allowed to reign in the upbringing of children, they will almost certainly grow up needing to break away and explore knowledge for themselves eventually.

    Gaining knowledge can be full of pain, though. However, pain is where the truth lies. 🙂

  • mylesfromnowhere

    Religion is for those that are afraid of going to hell. Spirituality are for those that have been there and survived.

  • docmarc

    Very well stated!

Leave a Reply

